Religion vs Homosexuality – update

After reading my response in the cold, sober  light of the following day, I have to confess to being horrified at the level of aggression in my reply. I sounded a bit like a angry ranting mad man – not a great way to debate an issue. I am embarrassed and a little ashamed of some of the comments I made and I was actually going to take the post about it down, but then I decided that would have been too easy – this blog is supposed to be warts & all – well that was a wart. So I decided instead to send the guy another email. Here it is:


I apologies for my response yesterday I went too far and let my anger and upset at your article get the better of me resulting in some sweeping inflamatory statements that were entirely unnecessary. It felt like your article was like an attack on who I am and my reaction was to attack back which was wrong. I would usually sleep on it before replying to something like that, but for some reason I didn’t do that and I wish I had. I stand by a lot of what I said, but the way in which I said it was not acceptable and I apologise for that.
The sticky subject of religion and homosexuality will I think always remain a contentious one. I’ve been very let down and I supposed scarred by religion, so I am left with a very dim and rather bitter view of it. I do believe in live and let live and I know a lot of people get a lot of comfort from religion and for that reason it is a good thing. It is just a shame that religion is unable to offer all people the same comfort, security and acceptance.
Once again, my apologies for the aggressive tone of my email yesterday and for some of the comments. We will however have to agree to disagree on the subject of homosexuality.
Regards

About RescueMyLife

I am a single man, 45 years old living in London and working in the media. My life is complex and I have decided to try and make some sense of it. I am writing this blog anonymously as I believe that only by remaining anonymous can I be honest and speak freely about my thoughts and feelings. I have no idea where this blog will take me...
This entry was posted in Self Discovery. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Religion vs Homosexuality – update

  1. susietrue says:

    Dear Caramel
    This response of yours is more measured and far better than deleting the whole post. Sometimes I suspect “shoot from the hip” reactions do have a place but a pat on the back to you for seeking to correct your approach. My own view is influenced by a very personal experience as well as the oft-reported tales of abuse by Catholic priests. Man may have been created by God but by forming us as sentient beings there are times when I feel we are required to make our own choices; do we follow all His teachings blindly or can we not inform our views by the teachings of others. I would very much hope that rather than live in a world where a religion dictated a narrow path to follow we could each explore our own spirituality and arrive at our own “rules” as to how we live our life. As to the ways these might interact with our sexuality, they will be as diverse as the extent of our imagination. Having been Christened into the Church of Scotland, I would not wish for recent knowledge of more eastern religions to be excluded from my overall road map. Of course, this is all very easy to say when one has the liberty granted by living where we do.

    Can I suggest the maybe the emphasis on the issue of “religion” and all the emotion that can generate, be replaced by a focus on spirituality. I suspect the realtionship between sexuality and spirituality may be different – not necessarily easier, because to a large extent you will have to determine your own context – but one that is worth exploring.

    I can in no way accept that homosexuality is a learned behaviour gleaned from our eperience in infancy. Indeed I rather suspect that in a large number of cases (which I suspect includes your own) it is a fact that weighs heavily on the individual where blaming it on the actions of a parent would relieve a lot of guilt. It is however a part of you, together with your struggles with depression. Is it possible to worry about such matters too much?

    Take care
    Susie

    • RescueMyLife says:

      Religion is a very sticky subject for me and I should never have entered into it in this blog to be honest. My problem is with organised religion – individual spirituality is something entirely different. Perhaps it is spirituality that I need a little of in my life right now.

      I decided to leave the post there, as it would have been too easy to remove it to save face – that was my reaction and I have to live with it.

      Yes it is possible to worry about such matters too much, but when they effect every part of your life – often in a negative way, it is impossible to ignore them. I’ve spent the last 25 years ignoring pretty much everything and it has all finally caught up with me.
      RML

  2. susietrue says:

    Don’t know where else to put this Caramel, but no joints and no alcohol? Take a bow – appointment with doctor tomorrow will be fine. Even if you don’t feel too good, you should feel great. ST

Leave a Reply

