Working out my goals (2) The popular blog

Last week I spent five minutes making an initial list of things I want to achieve / goals. This was the list:

Write a book
Write an awesome song
Get a new job
Become an expert in something
Write a popular blog
Live abroad for at least a year
Learn a language
See the Northern Lights
Find something that excites me

This list is still newborn and I will spend some time considering it further and refining it / adding to it, but for the moment I want to talk about number 5 on the list as I have already embarked upon this particular mission to: Write a popular blog.

By now I had expected to have hundreds of followers hanging on my every word, waiting with eager anticipation for my next post and clamouring to find out my true identity. The reality is rather well, disappointing… a minor setback I’m sure. I thought my blog had been visited by 9 people (woohoo!) but in actual fact I realised yesterday that all 9 of those people were in fact me checking out my blog from my phone. The truth is, none of my posts have actually been read by anyone. I’m not really sure how you’re supposed to attract people to your blog – I assumed it would somehow magically happen all by itself and all I had to do was keep blogging. Well I shall keep plodding on, but I honestly don’t have a clue how to actually attract readers. In the WordPress ‘how to’ guide it mentions things like twitter & facebook. The problem is I am writing this anonymously, so I can’t exactly go onto facebook and invite all my friends – that would completely defeat the object of this blog. I want this blog’s success (or failure) to be purely based on the interest of strangers… perhaps that’s a recipe for disaster? However, if this blog is to remain truthful and honest, I have to remain anonymous or it will effect what I write and the things that I write about – especially as a lot of the content will be about my friends, family and work colleagues. As I intend to be brutally honest, it would be very wrong if anyone I refer to is identifiable.

So then, on the plus side I have started writing my hugely successful and popular blog, on the downside, it is neither successful nor popular. I’m thinking that perhaps I need to spend a little less time writing my blog, and a little more time reading other peoples blogs? I am also thinking that perhaps I should rename my blog and use that same name to create a new twitter account to link this blog to. Sounds like a plan to me. I probably also need to look at this tagging thing a little more closely and make sure my blog is as accessible as possible. All sounds great in theory, but lets see if any of it makes any difference to my current readership of zero. sigh.

I have already decided that I will crack open a bottle of Champagne the day I receive my first ‘comment’ from a reader.

 

About RescueMyLife

I am a single man, 45 years old living in London and working in the media. My life is complex and I have decided to try and make some sense of it. I am writing this blog anonymously as I believe that only by remaining anonymous can I be honest and speak freely about my thoughts and feelings. I have no idea where this blog will take me...
This entry was posted in Self Discovery. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Working out my goals (2) The popular blog

  1. Pandora says:

    Well, you got your first comment a few minutes ago from me – hope you’re enjoying the champagne 😀

    I found you via Twitter, so that’s starting to work. Also, I know many people (myself included) that have set up FB accounts specifically allied to the alter egos that write their blogs. There’s also services like Blogged, BlogCatalog, BlogSurfer, Technorati and Wikio (just Google any one of them and they should produce the first result). If you use WordPress tags, other people can use the so-called ‘tag surfer’ too – I’m not using wordpress.com any more, so don’t know much about this, but it could be something to look into.

    Commenting on other blogs is always a good one, especially if you can get on the person’s ‘blogroll’ (such a strange term). I’ll happily put you on mine, but I have it divided by diagnoses for ease of navigation and am not sure where to put you – Depression, maybe? Let me know and I’ll sort it 🙂

    • RescueMyLife says:

      Thanks Pan – you are indeed the first person to leave a comment which, as you pointed out means I get to crack open a bottle of Champagne tonight so that’s a double thank you!
      Thanks for all the advice – I will spend some time going through it all soon – it’s all a bit like double dutch to me at the moment.
      This blog is quite a daunting prospect, but your advice and good wishes are greatly appreciated.
      All the best
      RML

  2. dairyart says:

    I really like your blog so far and I like the name as well. You write about things that I experience too, and that has made me interested in hearing more.
    I hope that your journey to better yourself is successful. I am hoping I can learn how to do it myself, as I am stuck in my own lifeless life.

    Your years in the University have made you a very good writer.
    Best wishes
    dairyart

    • RescueMyLife says:

      Hi Dairyart,
      Thanks for reading my blog & the nice words. I’m not sure if this blog will help me or not to be honest – if nothing else it will be an interesting journey and I hope I get something positive out of it. I think the most important thing is to keep trying and never give up or give in to the gloom.
      All the best to you
      RML

  3. One question–why are you writing a blog?

    I write a blog but I’m doing it as a way to get my thoughts in order and to track and measure my progress through depression. Depression sufferers tend to clam up and not talk about what they are going through, so my blog is one way to counteract that. I’m not writing it for anyone but me.

    • RescueMyLife says:

      Thanks for your comment. My reasons for writing this blog are layed out in my introduction. I have never written one before. I am writing it to try and make sense of my life and to try and find some sort of meaning to it again. I don’t know if I will be successful and I have no idea where this blog will lead me – I just need to write it. So to answer your question, I am writing this blog for myself, but as I am writing it behind an anonymous mask I feel very comfortable for other people to read it – maybe along the way I will connect with other people who are dealing with the same baggage as I am, maybe I will attract criticism and scorn, maybe it will generate healthy debate, perhaps my ramblings will help somebody, perhaps someone will read my blog and be able to help me. I never talk about myself in the real world – I’m always the listener and sympathiser for other people, so this blog is also my voice, and as I now have a voice here in this blog, I would love people to llisten. Is that wrong?
      RML

Leave a Reply

