First steps – religion will not be part of my journey

Taking the first tentative steps on this journey of self discovery is a daunting prospect.

Some people would say that finding that ‘golden path’ has to be a spiritual journey. However, I will state now for the record that mine will not be a spiritual journey. I will not be ‘finding god’ during this process. I spent my teenage years being a good C of E christian and believing in god. I followed that path, but ultimately rejected it as all I could see before me were lies and hypocracy. Don’t get me wrong, I think that religion can serve a moral purpose and for some people, is a good thing. The fear of death and the overwhelming sense of being a mere fleeting grain of sand in the vastness of time and space, is just too much to cope with or contemplate for some people. These people turn to religion as a tool in order to come to terms with the cruelness of life… and death. They need to believe that after death there is something even better… a continuation. I don’t. Sure, I’m afraid of death and the unknown as much as the next person, but I will not cower behind religion to try and make myself feel better about it. I do find it staggering (and irritating) that there are so many religions, with so many differing views, all absolutely convinced that they are right and everyone else is wrong. How many wars have be waged in the name of god? Well, the way I view it, is if there are say 500 different religions in the world, that means that at least 499 of them are wrong. It seems ridiculous to me that anyone can honestly believe in any god when the odds of picking the right one (if one exists at all), are so small. So no, religion is not for me.

About RescueMyLife

I am a single man, 45 years old living in London and working in the media. My life is complex and I have decided to try and make some sense of it. I am writing this blog anonymously as I believe that only by remaining anonymous can I be honest and speak freely about my thoughts and feelings. I have no idea where this blog will take me...
This entry was posted in Self Discovery. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to First steps – religion will not be part of my journey

  1. mrsp says:

    I’m with you on this one.
    The only religious book I really could believe in is The Shack, that’s kinda my limit. I was actually scared to read it, in case it ‘turned’ me, it didn’t but I liked it & bizarrely found it to be the most helpful book I read of the genre.

    • RescueMyLife says:

      I don’t know The Shack, but your comment about being scared to read it in case it ‘turned’ you, has really made me laugh. Absolutely brilliant. What kind of book is it exactly? I don’t mind stories based on ‘religious themes’ like the generic battle between light & dark – but that’s about it for me.
      RML

  2. mrsp says:

    The Shack is one mans take on God, Jesus & the Holy Spirit. It’s up to date and relevant to the difficulties faced by todays society, addressing concerns about religion, the purpose of belief and offering answers to questions such as why awful things happen to good people if there is a ‘God’. It’s a good story firstly, and made me think. Some friends had read it and had said it re-confirmed their faith (which is why I wondered if I would be ‘turned’!). I’m glad I read it.

    • RescueMyLife says:

      Hmmm to be honest it doesn’t really sound like my cuppa tea at all. I have had my lifetime fill of that kind of thing. I consider all religion a destructive force. It is merely a form of ‘acceptable’ brain-washing to make people compliant. Blind faith is a very dangerous thing. To be honest the only ‘religion’ that even vaguely interests me is Buddhism, which isn’t really a religion at all but a way of life and a way of thinking. So I’m afraid for me, the ‘r’ word remains very much a dirty word.
      RML

  3. mrsp says:

    I hear you there. I was told that ‘mindfulness’ is based on Buddhism, and am included to agree with regard to brainwashing & destructive / guilt inducing element to religion. I understand some people need it & why. I also see traits I dislike in religious leaders (especially homophobia but also other particular ‘sins’ as judged by some). Absolute power corrupts absolutely perhaps? Anyway, I am trying mindfulness so maybe Buddhism is ok as way of life? I try to do to others as I would like them to do to me, try my best to help others & be accepting. I hope that means I live a good life. Don’t need anymore guilt, am no good with guilt!

    • RescueMyLife says:

      I’ll have to look into this mindfulness thing – it sounds interesting.
      And I have to agree about the guilt thing now you mention it… I’m not too good with that either.
      RML

Leave a Reply

